Day6 is a Korean rock band consisting of 5 members. The leader, Sungjin, provides lead vocals, rhythm and acoustic guitars; Jae provides the lead guitar, vocals and rapping; Young K provides extra vocals, bass guitar and rapping; Wonpil provides vocals and synthesizer and Dowoon plays the drums.


The group originally debuted as a 6 member band but Junhyeok announced his retirement from the group and from JYP on 27th of February 2016, citing personal reasons.




Young K performed in a 3 piece group in Toronto, Canada in 2010 and was then recruited by JYP and joined the company in 2011. 2012 saw Jae compete in the first season of SBS K-Pop Star and despite finishing 6th, he signed an exclusive contract with JYP alongside 3rd place winner, Park Ji-min, and 1st place, Baek A-yeon.


JYP initially announced the group as a 5 member band consisting of Sungjin, Jae, Young K, Junhyeok and Wonpil. They began promotions as 5LIVE in 2014 and appeared on the 4th episode of Mnet’s Who is Next: Win as well as releasing a song titled, Lovely Girl, for the Pretty Man OST. The band came to dislike this name as they were being compared to American band Maroon 5.


In mid 2015, the drummer Dowoon was added to the group and the band changed their name. The name Day6 is said to represent every member for the 6 days of the week, with the band’s fans being the 7th day. In preparation for their 2015 debut, Day6 performed live in promotional concerts in clubs across Seoul.




Day6’s debut album, The Day, was released on September 7th, 2015, and Day6 began their first solo concert tour in November 2015, entitled Day6 First Live Concert or D-Day.


At the start of March, Day6 announced that they would make a comeback as a 5 member band and that the title single would be ‘Letting Go’. The mini album includes the single titled ‘Daydream’ and other six brand new songs. This album is sure to gain Day6 even more popularity, and fans, and we hope that you love them as much as everyone else!


Written by Kirsty 


Voted Thanks!