X JAPAN‘s leader showed once again what an amazing international star he is by selling out both days of his performances in New York!

[Related Article: Yoshiki classical performance starts tonight!]

On January 12th and 13th, Yoshiki sold out back-to-back performances in New York’s famous Carnegie Hall! For these amazing shows, Yoshiki – drummer, pianist, composer and leader of X JAPAN – performed some of his band’s most famous songs, original compositions from his solo album Yoshiki Classical and, along with the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, some works from composers known all other the world: Beethoven and Tchaikovsky.

The final performance for Yoshiki Classical Special World Tour 2016-2017  was broadcast live on January 13th all over the world, from Hong Kong to Japan gathering a huge audience. The artists personally introduced each song, connecting his personal history with the compositions, including video tributes to deceased X Japan members Hide and Taiji.

During the show he took a moment to make a little speach about his personal pursuit of the American Dream: “There is a thing called ‘The American Dream’. I came here to pursue that dream a long time ago. It hasn’t been easy but I kept trying and will keep on trying… I hope America will continue to give all of us the chance to pursue that Dream, regardless if you’re Asian, Hispanic, Black, or White. I really respect this country and always will.” After this hearfelt speach, Yoshiki also included a surprise performance of “The Star-Spangled Banner“.

To end the night, a mirror ball above the stage bathed the music hall in light and Yoshiki performed “Endless Rain“. The audience, captivated by the song and the atmosphere, joined the singer and filled Carnegie Hall with their voices and the message of enduring love. At the climax of the show, Yoshiki received flowers from fans during an extended standing ovation as they screamed a final “We Are X!” together.

Check out the complete musical selection for the two performances below.

1st set

  1. I’ll Be Your Love (Theme for the World Expo Japan)
  2. The Last Song
  3. Forever Love (Theme for the animation film X)
  4. Golden Globe Theme (Theme for the Golden Globes®)
  5. Hero (Theme for the animation film Saint Seiya)
  6. La Venus (Theme for the film We Are X)
  7. Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven)
  8. Anniversary (Theme for the Emperor of Japan 10 Year Anniversary)

2nd set

  1. Tears (Theme for the TV drama Nikushimi ni Hohoende)
  2. Miracle
    ** extra song: Star-Spangled Banner – new arrangement by YOSHIKI
  3. Bloom Like A Rose (Theme for the TV drama Seisei Suru Hodo Aishiteru)
  4. Say Anything (Theme for the TV drama Lullaby Keiji)
  5. River of the Light
  6. Swan Lake (Tchaikovsky)
  7. Without You
  8. Kurenai
  9. Transition
  10. Art of Life
  11. Endless Rain (Theme for the film Zipang)

Despite his busy schedule so far, Yoshiki has no intention to stop as his upcoming plans include the release of X Japan’s new single, “La Venus” (currently in contention for an Oscar for Best Original Song from the documentary film “We Are X”), X Japan’s new album, and the band’s concert performance at SSE Wembley Arena on March 4, 2017 (postponed from last year due to the illness of band guitarists Pata).

Tickets for X Japan at SSE Wembley Arena can be bought here. You can check out the promotional video for the event on Yoshiki’s Youtube channel.

Voted Thanks!